Benachie Playgroup is based within the well known and much loved Carnegie Hall which is located in the Fife town of Dunfermline.

We are extremely proud of our historic surroundings and as such we have put together a small introduction to the history of the Carnegie Hall.

carnaigiehallCarnegie Hall was opened in 1937 to provide Dunfermline with a public hall for the arts and was named in honour of industrialist, businessman and philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, widely regarded as Dunfermline’s most famous son. The building was the second Carnegie Hall, after the well-known landmark in Carnegie’s adopted home of New York.

The building was designed by local architects Muirhead and Rutherford, Louise Carnegie, his daughter, attended the earth-cutting ceremony. Carnegie Hall quickly became the main theatre for variety shows and amateur dramatics. In 1974, Dunfermline District Council took over the management of the Hall, introducing a civic theatre programme that continued to support local amateur groups, but now also included popular Scottish entertainment, pop music acts and pantomime.

Contemporary professional drama was added to the mix in 1996. After a period without full-time management, a new management team was appointed in 2000 to develop the hall and its activities. The new staff developed the Carnegie Hall complex, which now incorporated the adjoining Music Institute as a development and studio performance space, into a dynamic arts centre for Dunfermline. The addition of the refurbished Tiffany’s Restaurant completed the venue’s current incarnation as a vibrant and popular destination for drama, comedy, music and more.

You can find out more about the Carnegie Hall by visiting it’s website at www.onfife.com